BBGFC.com

Fishing Regulations in Connecticut

Fisheries in Connecticut are an important part of the region’s economy, and they are subject to close monitoring by professional biologists who work to ensure that the waters are safe for the fish to live in. Consequently, you must recognize that your passion for fishing must be practiced in appropriate conditions while adhering to specific rules and regulations that apply to all statewide waters.

All of the money collected from the license of fishing licenses is used to support the ongoing programs that benefit Connecticut’s fish and wildlife.

 

To fish in the Inland District if you are over the age of 16, you must purchase a license, which ranges from $14 to $55 depending on your age and whether you are a resident or non-resident of the district. In addition, marine recreational fishing licenses are required for fishing from the shore or from a boat in the marine district, and they can be obtained online.

The majority of fishing licenses are issued on a calendar year basis and expire on December 31st, which is the last day of the year. It is possible to order them through the Connecticut Department of Fish and Wildlife’s Deep Fishing section of their website. To supplement this, licenses may be purchased from tackle shops, retailers, town hall meetings, and DEEP field offices and offices. On the Department of Energy and Environmental Protection’s official website, you can find a comprehensive list of available vendors.

Along with these licenses, you can purchase a combination of permits for inland fishing, marine fishing, and firearm hunting to use in conjunction with one another. If you want to take lobsters for your own consumption, there are different types of recreational marine licenses available depending on your personal requirements.

The 18th and 12th of June are free fishing days, which means that if you want to go fishing during those dates, you’ll only need a one-day free fishing license. Moreover, qualified organizations that wish to organize fishing group activities or events can take advantage of a special discount on group licenses that are available.

You can submit your application for your license online, which will expedite the process. As soon as it has been reviewed, you will receive the documentation via email, saving you the time and effort of scanning and printing.

The following are examples of prohibited acts that you should be aware of in order to preserve the natural beauty of the fishing environment:.

 

  • It is not permitted to transport live fish from one body of water to another or to introduce new species that may have a negative impact on a new waterbody under any circumstances. Failure to comply with this rule may result in a decrease in the number of popular recreational species as well as changes in the clarity and quality of the water.
  • If you transport live fish to new waterbodies, you may be subject to a fine of up to $85 per violation, per fish. The fact of the matter is that, should a new fish species become established, it will be extremely difficult and expensive to remove it from the water.
  • Possession of diploid grass carp is strictly prohibited. Each pond is inspected by the Fisheries Division of Connecticut to ensure that the fish do not escape from the ponds where they were originally stocked.
  • Possession of critically endangered fish species such as piranha, walking catfish, black, silver, and bighead carp, gizzard shad, and all species of snakehead (family Channidae) is prohibited in the United States and many other countries.

 

The following are some other angling laws that you should be aware of:

 

  • A special permit is required for the following activities: stocking fish or importing fish into the state, conducting a fish tournament or derby, and using grass carp for aquatic plant management.
  • Except in areas that have been approved by the state and are clearly marked with orange inscriptions, fishing is not permitted in permitted swim areas.

If you are found guilty of violating these regulations by a judge, you may also face the possibility of having your license suspended in addition to paying fines. On the Internet, you can find and download all of the information you need.